Trying to live on a restricted diet? Here is one diabetic’s story.

Good Morning,

How One of the great things I get to do as owner of a specialized healthy bakery is learn my customers’ stories.  Many have dietary restrictions due to health issues and/or food allergies.  Others just want to eat well and feel their best.  Glad to know Mind Your Muffin Co. is helping by providing truly healthy food products that can be enjoyed by so many people: diabetics, celiacs (gluten-intolerance), vegans, those with dairy, soy, casein, egg, peanut and wheat allergies. And of course all those who live a low carb, low glycemic (even paleo) lifestyle.

This post allows one of my customers, Charles Acasili, to share his story.  Charles discovered Mind Your Muffin Co. from an article in his local paper entitled “Muffins will satisfy sweet tooth for those with sugar, gluten issues” (article is attached at the end of this post).  Here is Charles’ story of how he became a type 1 diabetic at the age of 27.

“I thought I was a healthy guy.  During my college years, I ate junk food, including fast food, but worked out constantly.  I was losing weight at this time so I thought the bad food and exercise balanced each other out.  In the years after college, I continued to have a workout regimen but there was a problem.  I started to feel thirsty all the time, losing more weight than I should, and overall wasn’t feeling right.  Due to other health issues, I went to see a doctor.  The doctor found something that I was dreading as diabetes runs in my family.  I was diagnosed with type 1 Diabetes.

I was admitted to the hospital that day and stayed for two days as the problem was diagnosed. The doctors asked me to describe my diet.  I told them I ate large amounts of carbs, rice in particular (I am Asian after all).  At the time, I would consume large amounts of Gatorade, soda, and various juices, working out all the while.  I thought I was healthy since I was losing weight on this type of diet, but I was dead wrong.

I was assigned an endocrinologist (diabetes doctor) and a diabetes dietician as I would have to drastically alter my diet.  The doctor gave me a crash course on how to count carbs, read all food labels, and to balance out every meal.  In attempts to lower my sugar levels, my diet was very restricted.  Through diet, I had to balance my sugar levels at each meal.  I had to make sure to give myself the correct amount of insulin because if I gave myself too much and didn’t eat enough, my blood sugar levels could go very low causing diabetic shock.  I changed my diet to one consisting of lots of leafy greens, small amounts of good protein and carbs – no sugary drinks or alcohol whatsoever.  Going from eating anything I wanted to having to limit my food intake was very difficult.

My advice to people who have a restricted diet is to stick with it as best you can.  Whether it is to lose weight or maintain a healthy lifestyle, we all have to be conscious and aware of what we put into our bodies.  Trust me, there are days I want to eat cookies and cake, especially when someone has a birthday at work.  It’s especially difficult having to limit my food intake during Thanksgiving and Christmas when surrounded by so much tempting food.

Upon writing this, my blood sugar levels are steady.  It wasn’t easy adjusting to such a life changing event.  Being diagnosed a Type 1 Diabetic at age 27 wasn’t something I thought would happen to me.  But it did happen and although I didn’t like it, I had to come to terms with it.

Another piece of advice I want to give to those going through difficult times is that there are people that can help.  Trust me there were some days I didn’t want to get out of bed in the morning.  I was in unbelievable pain and felt like there was no one there to help me.  But then something great happened that truly helped me.  I met a lovely person who I told my struggles.  Her name is Jillian Conley: an avid blogger, established author, and co-host of “Social Chicago” on Comcast. She was so moved by my story that she asked me to guest blog on her site for her fans and readers. The purpose of her blog is advice through stories.  Our intention for the blogpost is to support others, connect with people, and learn from them.  Jillian’s friend, Chicago Blogger Network founder Kelly Ryan O’Brien, has also supported me throughout my time of need.  These two lovely ladies, along with my family, friends, students, and co-workers have been there for me.  I ask you now that if you or someone you know is struggling with health issues please listen to them and try to understand that it’s not easy doing it alone.  Just by talking or listening to that person, you can create a strong bond between people and that’s something that can’t be broken.

Thank you Gina Lemke for telling my story and I hope that my story is a living example that whatever an obstacle life throws at you, you can either run from it or overcome that obstacle.”

I want to thank Charles for talking about such a trying time in his life.  It is always nice to know you are not alone.  There are so many people overcoming the difficulties that come along with health issues every day.

Article in the Pioneer Press:

Glenview Announcements

 

Do you have a story you’d like to share?  I’d love to hear about it!

Hope you have a wonderful start to your summer,

Gina

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Trying to live on a restricted diet? Here is one diabetic’s story.

  1. Thank you again Gina for letting me do this. I appreciate it very much!

Leave a Reply

