Is there a point where it’s too late to benefit from eating healthy?

I thought I would write about the passive way some people have “asked” me about the benefits of healthy eating and lifestyle.  This very “question” was prompted on me yesterday.  As I was discussing the benefits of juicing vegetables/fruits/herbs with a colleague, an acquaintance who happened to be within earshot decided to join the conversation – well, more along the lines of listen.  This particular man is about 50 years old, decently overweight and has mentioned to me previously how he feels tired much of the time.  I will never forget when he found out I don’t drink coffee.  He nearly jumped out of his skin exclaiming, “I would never get out of bed/get off the couch/get up from my chair if there wasn’t coffee!  It is my fuel to get through each day!  No coffee, that’s crazy!”

As this man listened to the conversation about juicing, I could tell he was intrigued, but not at the point where he was ready to ask questions directly about juicing or eating healthier.  So once the conversation wrapped up and my colleague and I split ways, this acquaintance said to me nonchalantly, “I’m too old and I’ve been eating like crap for way too long.  Damage is already done – there’s no sense for me to eat healthy – it just won’t matter.”  So you see how this man did not ask me a question, but yet, he was looking for an answer from me.  This type of passive question has been asked to me several times.  I find the people asking the question in this manner are a bit fearful of change – perhaps concerned they cannot change so they throw some cop out excuse aloud and continue living by just getting through each day.  But a portion of these folks want help.  They want to feel better – they want to live each day, not just get through it.

Are you wondering where I’m going with this?  Well, I have a story that answers this very “question” and would like to share it.  Here’s your answer naysayers.

This nonfiction story is about a rabbit whose name was Snowy.  Yes, I am comparing rabbit findings to humans.  We do this all the time with lab animals.  Now if only lab animals were treated how Snowy was…anyway, here’s a picture of the little guy.

Image

Snowy was born in January 1999 and he became my little guy in February of that year.  Allow me to give you some background information about Snowy’s lifestyle initially.  He was more like a pet dog.  He roamed freely around the house living with an eighty-pound dog, was potty-trained, very social and affectionate.  So just like a family dog, Snowy began to eat human food.  The first 5 years of his life (his life span was 6-8 years) he ate an abundance of rabbit feed (which I didn’t know was so bad for him at the time) and a lot of human food.  Cereals, breads, pizza (meatless obviously) and candy were staples in his diet.  He even enjoyed wasabi peas…I know, so weird.

Snowy was 5 years old when something went very wrong.  I remember walking into my bedroom and seeing him sitting very stiff in a corner facing the wall.  This was very unusual.  In fact I could not remember a time he acted that way.  I rushed to him and he wanted nothing to do with me – just to be left alone.  The ultimate giveaway that something was seriously wrong was that he refused to eat.  Does this sound familiar (you know s/he is really sick because they will not eat)?

I rushed Snowy to the ER vet, where he was admitted and remained in their overnight facility for 5 nights.  His entire GI tract was blocked with all sorts of foods just rotting away.  The foods were not flowing properly through his digestive system causing him much discomfort.  His digestive system began to shut down.  He was in extremely bad shape.

Snowy came home 6 days later with medication.  Not just medication for his GI tract, but also for a heart condition and moderately severe arthritis in his right hind-leg.  Turned out his lifestyle left his body in an extremely inflammatory and sickly state.

Snowy began a strict diet of nutritious vegetables.  His staples were dandelion greens, kale, mustard greens, parsley, all types of lettuce (well, not iceberg).  I had cushioned flooring placed throughout the house to ensure he would be able to exercise with his arthritic leg.  We no longer lived with a dog, but Snowy had 4 stuffed animal geese that he carried around with him that kept him company as you can see from the picture below (sorry it’s a bit dark).

Image

This amazing guy passed away in October of 2011 at the age of 12 years, 9 months.  If you recall  earlier I mentioned his lifespan was estimated to be between 6 and 8 years.  Well, he doubled that lower number.  Oh, and I forgot to mention, Snowy no longer needed his heart medication 3 years after it was prescribed to him.  Yes,

My point in telling this story is it is never too late to benefit from incorporating healthy habits into your life.  Snowy was banging on death’s door at 5 years old, which roughly translates into 55 human years.  In my opinion, my acquaintance mentioned earlier in this post is in a better state of health than Snowy was when he was sick.  So if Snowy was able to turn things completely around, why can’t my acquaintance or anyone else throwing in the towel touting “it’s too late for me”?

Another note on this – is it just me or have you noticed lately more people shelling out this excuse so they can justify their lifestyle?  I know the economy is bad and the news is continuously bad, but don’t these people want something uplifting in their lives?  If anything I would think any controllable aspect of life would be set to a positive station since so much of what we cannot control is negative.  Thoughts?

-RealFoodsLady

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Is there a point where it’s too late to benefit from eating healthy?

  1. Debi Gardner

    I LOVE this story! It is so encouraging. You really can reverse damage done over time. There is a video of a Dr. who had MS; she was on a walker and actually reversed her decline with diet – three platefuls of greens daily, NO grains, vegetables galore, grass fed meats and seaweed! Her journey to health was based on scientific research. I will provide you separately with the link so you can watch it.

Leave a Reply

