What is the best way to juice? Blue Print Cleanse vs. home juicing!

Hi everyone!

This post will be comparing my homemade juice cleanse to the Blue Print Cleanse (3-day excavation) I did about a 3 months ago.  If you missed my review of the Blue Print Cleanse excavation juice, you can read about it here.

There are a few aspects that I will compare.  These are cost, nutrient quality, taste and convenience.  Let’s begin with cost:

BPC – you will receive 6 – 16oz juices per day at a cost of $65/day plus $10/day for shipping.  So if you order a 3 day cleanse, you will pay $65(3) + $10(3) = $225.  You will receive a total of 288oz of juice to be consumed within 3 days.  Hold on 1 moment – Whole Foods is now carrying Blue Print Cleanse juices so you can forget about those nasty shipping costs.  Now this is not at ALL Whole Food locations.  At the Whole Foods on Kingsbury in Chicago, the juices ranges from $6.99 – $9.99 per bottle.  So 6 bottles per day will range from $42 – $60 per day.  Better than $75/day!  And you can then mix/match per your preference.

In preparation for my 3 day homemade juice cleanse, I went to Whole Foods and grabbed enough fruits and vegetables for the 1st 2 day of the cleanse.  As I am sure you know, Whole Foods, aka “the (w)hole” (as in where did my money go?) is pricey.  I checked out with 3 bunches of organic kale, 1 bunch organic dino kale, 2 bunches of organic celery, 4 organic lemons, 4 organic cucumbers, 6 organic pink lady apples, a few ounces of ginger root and 2 bunches of organic italian parsley for $36.  As soon as I walked in the door I made a 16oz juice using 1 cucumber, 2 leaves kale, 2 leaves dino kale, 2 celery stalks, 1/4 of a pink lady apple and a 1/4 inch slice of ginger.  Without doing the math, I can safely say making your own juice is less expensive than ordering Blue Print Cleanse.  But you do need a juicer…and that can easily set you back a few hundred bucks.

As for nutrient quality, you will most likely have higher quality nutrients in your homemade juice simply because it is more fresh.  I know BPC has expiration dates on their juices (I believe they last for 1 week from date made).  The nutrient quality also depends on the type of juicer used.  I use a slow masticating juicer to keep the nutrients more intake.  This does not heat up and further oxidize (resulting in lower nutrient quality) the produce during the juicing process as do centrifugal style juicers.  As for the juicers used by BPC, I am not sure.  Most commercial juice bars use centrifugal style juicers so they are able to churn out juice orders quickly.  In my opinion, nutrient quality winner is homemade juice.

As for the taste, well this is a no-brainer.  When making your own homemade juice, you can add fruits/veggies/herbs based on your taste preferences.  If you are new to juicing and decide to take the plunge by making homemade juice, your first few juices may not taste great.  Without experience you will not know how much or how little to use.  But this can be fun!  When I initially experimented with home juicing I enjoyed testing different juices.  Yes, it may cost more because you may end up wasting some produce (I made the mistake of using way too much ginger root – to the point where the juice could not be saved).  Another note on this  topic is BPC uses agave to sweeten some of its juices.  I do not use agave as a sweetener and do not wish to have agave in any of my juices.  Customization – that is a definite advantage of home juicing.

Convenience – hands down BPC.  No produce to purchase, no time spent juicing, no time spent researching how much of each ingredient to use, no time spent cleaning up after juicing – oh so simple.

Reasons to juice using BPC – new to juicing, convenience, do not have a local produce store near you, don’t want to invest in a juicer.

Reasons to make homemade juices – have the time, experience, in this for the long haul (to justify the expense of a juicer), very particular about how you would like your juice made, ensure nutrient quality at its highest levels by juicing daily.

Either way – juicing is great for you so have at it!!!  Any questions/comments, you know where to find me.

-RealFoodsLady

3 Comments

Filed under Healthy drinks (aka juicing), Uncategorized

3 responses to “What is the best way to juice? Blue Print Cleanse vs. home juicing!

  1. We are just dipping our toes into “clean leaving”. Detoxifying and juicing is at the top of our list. There is so much to learn and do. And the initial cost? My head is spinning and I’m not sure where to start, but am realizing it is going to have to be a gradual change. I can’t toss everything in the refrigerator/cupboard and go replace. I don’t have that kind of money. As we look into juicing, we are wondering what is the best juicer to purchase? We tried juicing once before, and we had a Jack Lalanne juicer. Which was ok, but we had to clean out the pulp and quite frankly, cleaning and assembling it was a pain. Can you suggest a good machine? (And any other tips!) Thank you!

    • Hi Char,

      I am glad to hear you will be juicing! I actually know a few people who used the Jack Lalanne juicer and were not happy with it so their juicing experience did not last long.

      I love the Omega 8004 Juicer. I ordered the juicer from Amazon for $259.95 (no tax/free shipping). Here’s the link to it: http://www.amazon.com/Omega-J8004-Nutrition-Commercial-Masticating/dp/B001RLYOEE/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361055164&sr=8-1&keywords=omega+8004+juicer. The Omega 8004 juicer is great for many reasons. I love how this juicer does not heat the fruits/veggies you are juicing by using a slow masticating process. This is great because it will not destroy vital nutrients and minerals. This juicer is very easy to clean and does not get clogged as with many other vertical style juicers. This juicer is so easy to use and clean that even my boyfriend, who is the worst at preparing anything more than simple, uses the 8004 a few times a month. The only negative is that it is more time consuming than a vertical style juicer when you are actually juicing the fruits and veggies. But this negative allows the nutrients to remain intact. Also in comparison to vertical style juicers, you save time during the cleanup process which can be grueling with foods getting tangled and clogged.

      Another terrific aspect of the Omega 8004 is that you can make nut butters and even flours and baby food. I have used it to make almond butter and chia seed flour. Works great! I believe the initial investment is justified in that this juicer has a 10 year warranty and my experience with it over the years has proved sturdy and reliable.

      Check out discount juicers.com on youtube. Here’s a video on juicing greens using the omega 8006, which is the same as the 8004 except color. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=htFPKcxIdXE They have other great instructional videos on several juicers and they will demonstrate the positive and negatives of each juicer.

      I would be happy to suggest beginning juices to make if you let me know some of your taste preferences. Let me know – I’d love to help!

  2. It’s an remarkable post designed for all the web users; they will take benefit from
    it I am sure.

Leave a Reply

